Greenies are the best dog dental chews for most dogs, with a Veterinary Oral Health Council (VOHC) seal for both plaque and tartar. For a dog that can’t eat animal protein, the pick is C.E.T. VeggieDent FR3SH. OraVet Small suits a dog from 10 to 24 lb. These 12 best dog teeth cleaning treats all appear by name on the VOHC list. A chew only helps if it fits your dog’s weight, so start with the finder below.
Best dog teeth cleaning treats at a glance
- Best overall: Greenies Regular, sealed for plaque and tartar, 25 to 50 lb
- Best plant-based: C.E.T. VeggieDent FR3SH, no animal ingredients, 22 to 66 lb
- Best grain-free: Whimzees Brushzees, no grain and no meat
- Best for small dogs: OraVet Small, 10 to 24 lb
- Best for toy breeds: Greenies Teenie, 5 to 15 lb
- Best for puppies: Greenies Puppy Teenie, from 6 months
- Best budget: Purina DentaLife Large, adult dogs over 40 lb
-
Best overall Greenies Regular Dogs from 25 to 50 lb that chew instead of swallowing. Check on Amazon -
Best plant-based C.E.T. VeggieDent FR3SH Medium Dogs from 22 to 66 lb with a chicken or beef allergy. Check on Amazon -
Best for small dogs OraVet Small Dogs from 10 to 24 lb whose vet has flagged tartar. Check on Amazon
Find the right dental chew for your dog
The 12 best dog dental chews
These are the best dog teeth cleaning chews for each size of dog, and every one is on the VOHC list. The seal is the starting point. Size, calories and how your dog eats decide the rest. Pick the pack that matches your dog’s weight, because a chew too small for your dog is easy to swallow whole.
Medium dogs: 25 to 50 lb
- VOHC accepted for plaque and tartar since 2007
- 88 kcal per chew, close to the full treat budget of a 50 lb dog
- Label warns that gulping a chew can be harmful or fatal
- Seal covers plaque and tartar
- Flexible texture
- Five sizes across the weight range
- High in calories for a 25 lb dog
- One Golden owner reports it gone in 13 seconds
- VOHC accepted for plaque and tartar, all sizes, seal 2020
- Contains corn, soy and rice, so it is not grain-free
- Virbac allows it once a puppy eats solid food easily, with close monitoring
- No animal protein
- Wide weight range
- 75 kcal per chew
- Firmer than a Greenie
- Corn and soy rule out some allergy dogs
- Only Brushzees and the Toothbrush shape are on the VOHC list, not every Whimzees chew
- Label limits the medium to dogs 25 to 40 lb, 9 months or older
- Calories are not published on the maker's page
- Meat-free, sold as grain-free
- Seal covers plaque and tartar
- Narrow weight range
- One r/dogs owner's dog refused them

Small dogs and toy breeds: under 25 lb
- VOHC accepted for tartar only, seal 2016, whatever the Amazon listing says
- Label says give the chew whole and watch until it is gone
- For dogs 6 months or older; calories are not stated on the listing
- Delmopinol coating
- Dissolves quickly, per the listing
- Tartar claim only
- No published calorie count
- VOHC accepted for plaque and tartar
- Not for dogs under 5 lb or under 6 months
- Small dogs are the group most often reported with chews lodged in the esophagus
- Sized for toy breeds
- Seal covers plaque and tartar
- 25 kcal is a full treat allowance for a 9 lb dog
- VOHC accepted for plaque and tartar, all sizes, seal 2019
- Label limits it to dogs 15 to 25 lb, 9 months or older
- Calories are not published on the maker's page
- Meat-free, sold as grain-free
- Seal covers plaque and tartar
- Not before 9 months
- One r/dogs owner's dog refused them
- VOHC accepted for tartar, seal 2007
- Label: dogs under 35 lb, half a chew a day for toy breeds
- Beefhide with bacon flavor; no grain or chicken listed
- No chicken or grain listed
- Label allows half a chew for toy breeds
- Rawhide can break into swallowable pieces
- Calories are not published
Large dogs: over 40 lb
- VOHC accepted for tartar, seal 2014
- 100 kcal per chew, so count it against the day's food
- Contains chicken by-product, soy, milk and artificial colors
- Easy to find
- Costs less per chew than Greenies
- Tartar claim only
- A poor fit for dogs with food sensitivities
- VOHC accepted for tartar on the Original Large line only, seal 2024
- Calories range from 73 to 84 by flavor
- Not for puppies or dogs under 40 lb
- Low cost per chew
- Moderate calories for the dog's size
- Small and medium Dentastix have no seal
- Owners report stomach upset in some dogs
- VOHC accepted for tartar, North American sizes, seal 2016
- Adults only: not for puppies under a year
- 100 kcal per chew; uses BHA and BHT preservatives
- Lowest cost per chew of the large-dog picks
- Ridged texture
- Few owner reports on Reddit
- Not for dogs under a year
- VOHC accepted for tartar, seal 2007
- Four ingredients, no grain and no chicken
- The maker says one a day; the Amazon listing says every other day
- Slower to finish
- No chicken or grain
- Rawhide can break into swallowable pieces
- Calories are not published
Puppies
- VOHC accepted for plaque and tartar, seal 2019
- 26 kcal per chew
- Larger puppies need the Regular puppy size, not this pack
- Made for puppies
- Seal covers plaque and tartar
- Nothing before 6 months
- Fits only 5 to 15 lb
Dog dental chews compared
| Product | VOHC seal | Label weight | Minimum age | Calories | Main base | Type | Tier | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenies Regular | Plaque and tartar | 25-50 lb | 6 months | 88 kcal | Wheat, gelatin, poultry flavor | Flexible chew | Mid-range | Check on Amazon |
| C.E.T. VeggieDent FR3SH Medium | Plaque and tartar | 22-66 lb | When eating solids | 75 kcal | Corn, soy, rice (no animal) | Plant-based chew | Premium | Check on Amazon |
| Whimzees Brushzees Medium | Plaque and tartar | 25-40 lb | 9 months | Not listed | Potato starch (no animal) | Plant-based chew | Premium | Check on Amazon |
| OraVet Small | Tartar | 10-24 lb | 6 months | Not listed | Pork protein, wheat, soy | Flexible chew | Mid-range | Check on Amazon |
| Milk-Bone Brushing Chews Large | Tartar | 50 lb and up | 6 months | 100 kcal | Brewers rice, chicken by-product | Flexible chew | Mid-range | Check on Amazon |
| Pedigree Dentastix Large | Tartar | 40 lb and up | Not for puppies | 73-84 kcal | Rice flour, wheat starch, chicken | Flexible chew | Budget | Check on Amazon |
| Purina DentaLife Large | Tartar | 40 lb and up | 1 year | 100 kcal | Rice, wheat, chicken by-product | Flexible chew | Budget | Check on Amazon |
| Greenies Teenie | Plaque and tartar | 5-15 lb | 6 months | 25 kcal | Wheat, gelatin, poultry flavor | Flexible chew | Budget | Check on Amazon |
| Greenies Puppy Teenie | Plaque and tartar | 5-15 lb | 6 months | 26 kcal | Wheat, gelatin, fish oil | Flexible chew | Budget | Check on Amazon |
| Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Large | Tartar | 35 lb and up | Not stated | Not listed | Beef hide | Soft rawhide | Premium | Check on Amazon |
| Whimzees Brushzees Small | Plaque and tartar | 15-25 lb | 9 months | Not listed | Potato starch (no animal) | Plant-based chew | Mid-range | Check on Amazon |
| Tartar Shield Soft Rawhide Small | Tartar | Under 35 lb | Not stated | Not listed | Beef hide | Soft rawhide | Premium | Check on Amazon |
How we chose these chews
To find the best dental chews for dogs, we began with the VOHC accepted products list, read on November 4, 2026, and kept only products named on it. We confirmed each listing’s size and label weight range, plus minimum age and calories where published, against the label or the maker’s site. Then we pulled 115 Reddit threads from 2022 onward in which owners discuss these chews, used the reports from 36 of them and checked the FDA recall feed for every brand.
Nobody on our team ran a feeding trial for this guide. The experience here comes from owners, and each report links to its thread. Price tiers reflect cost per chew when we checked. Blue Buffalo Dental Chews (seal 2025) are also on the VOHC list. We left them out because the picks here cover the same dogs.
What “vet recommended” means for dog dental chews
Plenty of dental treats for dogs say “vet recommended” on the pack. The phrase tells you little, because no single body grants it. The check that means something is the VOHC seal, which the American Veterinary Dental College and the American Animal Hospital Association both point owners toward. So the vet recommended dog dental chews worth buying are the ones on that list.
VOHC does not test products itself. It reviews trial data against a fixed standard: two trials of at least 28 days, with plaque or tartar down at least 15 percent in each trial and 20 percent on average. The maker pays for the trials.
Three limits matter when you shop:
- The seal covers one product line, not a brand. Among Original Dentastix, only the Large Beef and Fresh Variety Pack is named. Whimzees holds it for Brushzees and the Toothbrush shape, not for Stix or Alligators.
- The claim can be narrower than the listing. OraVet’s seal is for tartar. Its Amazon copy says plaque and tartar.
- The seal says nothing about hardness, calories or choking. The VOHC protocol has no requirement on any of them. Those checks are yours.
How to choose a dental chew
Match the label weight
Buy by weight, not breed. WSAVA reports that esophageal obstruction from dental chews is uncommon but does happen, especially in smaller breeds. Stay inside the range printed on the pack, because labels such as Whimzees say a size suits only those weights.
Count the calories
WSAVA’s treat handout caps treats at 10 percent of daily calories. A daily dental chew often uses all of that.
| Dog weight | Daily treat limit | Chew for that weight | Calories in one chew |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9 lb | 24 kcal | Greenies Teenie | 25 kcal |
| 33 lb | 64 kcal | Greenies Regular | 88 kcal |
| 44 lb | 79 kcal | Dentastix Large | 73-84 kcal |
| 66 lb | 108 kcal | Milk-Bone Large | 100 kcal |
| 88 lb | 134 kcal | DentaLife Large | 100 kcal |
Smaller dogs go over first. A 33 lb dog on a daily Regular Greenie gets 24 kcal more than its treat limit before any other snack. Take the chew out of the day’s food instead. The dog food calculator gives your dog’s daily total, and an overweight dog is a good reason to choose a chew with fewer calories.
Watch how your dog eats
Most chews work by contact. A chew that goes down in a few bites does little, as one r/AskVet commenter points out. Owners report wide differences in how long a chew lasts:
| Chew | Owner report | Dog |
|---|---|---|
| Greenies | About 13 seconds | Golden Retriever |
| Greenies, Whimzees | A couple of minutes | Not stated |
| Yak stick | About 6 minutes | Labradors |
| Braided bully stick, 6 inch | About an hour | Puppy |
Stay nearby for every chew. Labels from Greenies, Milk-Bone and Whimzees warn that swallowing a chew without chewing it can be harmful or fatal. If your dog swallows pieces whole, stop giving chews. Brushing or a VOHC-sealed water additive suits that dog better.
Check the ingredients
Most sealed chews contain chicken or wheat. VeggieDent and Brushzees have no animal protein. Wellness sells Brushzees as grain-free, and Tartar Shield lists no grain. OraVet’s listing gives chicken as the flavor and pork protein, wheat and soy as ingredients, so a dog with a food allergy should skip it until your vet has checked the label.
Greenies vs Dentastix vs OraVet
These three take most of the searches, so here they are side by side.
| Greenies | Dentastix Large | OraVet | |
|---|---|---|---|
| VOHC claim | Plaque and tartar | Tartar | Tartar |
| Seal covers | All sizes and listed flavors | Original Large line only | OraVet Dental Hygiene Chews |
| Calories | 25 to 88 kcal by size shown here | 73-84 kcal | Not listed |
| Texture | Flexible | Flexible stick | Flexible, coated |
Greenies vs Dentastix
Greenies win on the claim, because the seal covers plaque as well as tartar and applies to every size. Dentastix Large cost less than Greenies Regular, and for a dog over 40 lb on a treat budget the variety pack is a sensible buy. Skip Original Small and Medium Dentastix if the seal matters to you, because the list doesn’t name them. Owner reports split on Dentastix: one golden owner paired them with brushing a few times a week and reported good teeth, while one r/puppy101 owner stopped after bad reactions.
Greenies vs OraVet
OraVet suits a dog prone to tartar buildup whose vet has suggested it. The owner of a 13-year-old dog on r/AskVet reported visibly less tartar and a vet report calling it mild. Greenies have the broader claim, more sizes and published calories. For a healthy young dog, start with Greenies.
Best dog dental chews according to Reddit
Threads that come up for “best dog dental chews reddit” return to the same five points. The threads come from r/dogs, r/AskVet, r/puppy101, r/Dogtraining, r/labrador and r/goldenretrievers.
- Brushing comes first. Commenters on r/AskVet say chews and dental kibble are unreliable substitutes and send owners to the VOHC site for product choices.
- Greenies get credit and complaints. One owner credits them for a 16-year-old beagle with teeth like a 6-year-old’s. Another stopped buying because the dog swallowed one in about 13 seconds.
- VeggieDent has fans. One r/dogs owner calls it the best option they tried, and another says it keeps tartar down.
- Bully sticks come up most, with one warning. Dogs swallow the last few inches. One dog swallowed 5 inches and vomited it hours later. Owners use a holder to stop it.
- Hard chews break teeth. Owners report a cracked premolar that needed extraction and a slab fracture, both blamed on yak chews.

Chews to avoid for teeth cleaning
Hard chews last longest, and that is why they sell. AAHA sees no strong reason to offer antlers or synthetic or natural bones, because they can damage teeth and cause pain and infection. The MSD Veterinary Manual lists real bones, hooves, antlers and hard nylon toys among the common causes of fractured teeth. British veterinary dentists report fractured upper fourth premolars from antler bars, and most dogs hide the pain.
WSAVA gives two quick checks: you can dent the chew with a fingernail, or you would be willing to be hit on the knee with it. Antlers, hooves and hard nylon bones fail both. The fracture reports on Reddit put yak cheese in the same group.
Bully sticks are softer, but they have no dental seal, and the last piece is a swallowing hazard. Standard rawhide also has no seal. Reports on Reddit include a Golden that nearly choked on one.
What dental chews can’t do
Dental chews support brushing and vet care. They do not replace either. In a 2019 blinded trial, daily brushing controlled plaque more than three times as well as one daily chew. WSAVA adds that chews tend to miss teeth because dogs don’t chew with the whole mouth, and that chews alone cannot keep gums clinically healthy.
Chews still earn a place. Daily brushing is the gold standard, but only about half of motivated owners keep it up after six months, according to WSAVA. A chew your dog gets every day beats a toothbrush in a drawer. The best routine combines both: brush the front teeth and canines, and let chews work on the premolars and molars. If your dog refuses a brush, the MSD manual says wiping the outside of the teeth with gauze every two or three days can remove plaque.
Most dog gum disease starts at and below the gumline, out of sight. Most dogs show some gum disease by age three, according to WSAVA, and white teeth do not rule it out. An exam under anesthesia with dental X-rays is the only way to see it. Book one if you see red gums, loose teeth, dropped food or a discolored tooth. The dog years calculator shows your dog’s age in human years, a useful prompt for booking that exam.

Dog dental chew FAQ
How often should a dog get a dental chew?
Once a day for most chews, following the label. Chew trials used one chew daily. Purina DentaLife is the exception for dogs from 15 to 40 lb, where the label spreads one piece over two days.
Can dental chews remove tartar that is already there?
No. Chews slow new buildup. Hardened tartar needs a professional cleaning under anesthesia. Owners on r/dogs report the same pattern: Greenies stop new buildup but leave old tartar in place.
Are Greenies safe for dogs?
Yes, when the size matches the dog's weight and the dog chews before swallowing. The label warns that gulping any chew can be harmful or fatal. Greenies do not appear in the FDA recall feed for dog treats since 2023.
Are dental chews safe for puppies?
From 6 months for Greenies, Milk-Bone and OraVet, 9 months for Whimzees Brushzees and 1 year for Purina DentaLife. Virbac allows VeggieDent once a puppy eats solid food easily, with close monitoring. Puppies shed baby teeth from about 14 weeks, and the adult teeth take roughly 3 more months to come in.
Do dental chews help bad breath?
Owners report fresher breath with OraVet and Milk-Bone chews. Bad breath is also the first listed sign of periodontal disease, so a smell that keeps returning calls for a mouth exam, not a stronger chew.
Can dental chews upset a dog's stomach?
Yes. WSAVA lists GI upset as a known risk of chewable treats. One r/puppy101 owner stopped Dentastix after bad reactions, and an r/goldenretrievers commenter warns that Whimzees ingredients can upset sensitive stomachs. Start with one chew every few days and watch the stools for a week.
Is rawhide good for dog teeth?
One crossover trial of a soft rawhide chew in beagles cut calculus by 28 percent and gingivitis by 46 percent. Any rawhide can still break into pieces that lodge in the throat or gut, and WSAVA notes case reports linking rawhide to Fanconi syndrome.
When does a dog need a dental cleaning instead of a chew?
Look for red or bleeding gums, loose teeth, dropping food, chewing on one side, pawing at the face or a discolored tooth. Any of these calls for a vet visit. Most gum disease sits under the gumline, so white teeth do not rule it out.









